//
you're reading...
Modern Postural Yoga, Self-Care, Social Issues, Westernization, Yoga Cultural History

Repost: Cultural shifts and brain scans: Is searching for spirituality the new American dream?

Our beliefs and our knowledge in cultural context: Neurotheology in the 21st century

CNN Belief Blog

By Jessica Ravitz, CNN

(CNN) — To discover one’s self. To find enlightenment. To take a spiritual journey.

What does this language mean? Are these pursuits, these aspirations, really possible? And if they are, what do the results look like?

I can’t pretend to have the answers. What I do know is that I went to India this year on a journalism fellowship to write about religion and spirituality. I landed in a place called Rishikesh, a holy spot for Hindus and magnet for Westerners seeking inner peace.

For two weeks, I set judgment aside and dove in to see what this place was all about. What I found touched me more than I anticipated and left me feeling somewhat transformed. I chronicled all of this in “Indian Awakenings” last month.

Since then, I’ve had a different sort of awakening.

View original post 826 more words

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

